A Piece of Cowhorse History

Reminics_pep

In 1998 the incomparable Greg Ward won the Snaffle Bit Futurity for the fourth time. It was a most legendary victory because when he won he was in the final stages of stomach cancer, able to ride beautifully as ever, but too weak to climb into the saddle without being lifted. Two months later he passed away. I have watched, over and over, the video of that final amazing fence run and Greg’s victory lap. The horse that Greg trained and showed that year was Reminic’s Pep, who stood at the legendary Ward Ranch for many years. Now he belongs to my friend and fellow trainer, Bobby Cotta. Bobby and Greg were special friends and as of recently, Bobby now owns Reminic’s Pep.

Earlier this week I was at Bobby’s place in Hilmar, near Merced. I had taken a friend to look at Babe (see earlier in this blog), who is for sale. On an earlier trip I was delighted to come in direct contact with this venerable little horse. So this time, I decided to take a picture of the horse with Bobby. Definitely a bloggable moment! Look closely and you can see the Greg Ward brand.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment